Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Atlanta Falcons Honor Fallen Police Officer Gail Thomas

From L to R: Craig W. Floyd, Chairman & CEO of the NLEOMF; Arthur Blank, Owner of the Atlanta Falcons; Jasmine Sherman, daughter of Officer Gail Thomas; and The Honorable George Turner, Chief of the Atlanta Police Department.
This past Sunday, December 16, Memorial Fund Chairman & CEO Craig W. Floyd joined Atlanta Falcons owner Arthur Blank on the field before their game versus the New York Giants. Accompanied by Chief George Turner, they presented Jasmine Sherman with a special Recorded Memorial Tribute in honor of her mother, Atlanta Police Officer Gail Thomas, who was struck and killed on January 24, 2012.

Launched in the summer of 2012, the Recorded Memorial Tribute Program is designed to share the stories of law enforcement officers who have died in the line of duty. The program provides a special way for all citizens to honor those who have made the ultimate sacrifice.

Now, thanks to the Atlanta Falcons, Officer Gail Thomas will forever be remembered for her infectious smile and devotion to policing in this touching tribute. Watch the full Recorded Memorial Tribute.

Special thanks to Bob McDonough, Chief Security Officer of the Atlanta Falcons, and Bill McClain, Chief Security Officer for Home Depot, Inc. for coordinating this presentation, and to the Atlanta Falcons for sponsoring the creation of Officer Gail Thomas’s Recorded Memorial Tribute.

Thursday, December 6, 2012

Law Enforcement Ambassador & Guardian Spotlight: Bill Erfurth

The National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund enjoys the support of a special group of volunteers: Law Enforcement Ambassadors and Guardians. Law Enforcement Ambassadors are active and retired law enforcement officers from city, state, federal and military law enforcement agencies, while Law Enforcement Guardians are volunteers who support and honor law enforcement but are not sworn officers, allowing citizens, family members and corporate supporters to work closely with the Memorial Fund in achieving our goals.

A relatively new member of the Ambassador group, many of you have probably never heard the name Bill Erfurth before. Though new to us, he’s been part of the law enforcement community for decades. Bill is a career law enforcement professional who served for over 25 years in Miami, Florida. In past years, Bill had his own radio show (COPNET), on which he, along with Memorial Fund Chairman & CEO Craig Floyd and now-U.S. Marshall Bill Berger discussed many issues of importance to law enforcement, especially officer safety. 

Lately, Bill has taken his talents behind the camera, and in partnership with the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund, he and his production team (Modern City Entertainment) have produced an exceptional documentary, Heroes Behind the Badge. Just like most newsworthy topics in the media these days, the repercussions of a law enforcement line-of-duty death appear to end with the start of the next news cycle. This is not so for our law enforcement families. Heroes Behind the Badge takes a close-up and personal look at several officers and incidents in which they were involved in 2011—some fatal, others close calls. In documentary style, law enforcement professionals and family members share their stories of loss, grief and survival. The film does not reenact the incidents, but describes them with eyewitness accounts. Families share their deepest thoughts and their journey to Washington, DC for National Police Week and the Candlelight Vigil at the Memorial.  

All Ambassadors and Guardian volunteers are encouraged to consider hosting a screening of Heroes Behind the Badge in your local community. Several screenings have been held in communities across the country. To learn more about Heroes Behind the Badge and how to host a screening, please e-mail Bill Erfurth or visit the Heroes Behind the Badge website

We thank Bill for his leadership and vision to tell the stories of the brave men and women of law enforcement. 

Wednesday, December 5, 2012

Distinguished Service Award Given to FBI Director Robert S. Mueller

The Honorable Robert S. Mueller, III, Director of the FBI, was unanimously selected by the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund Board of Directors to receive our Distinguished Service Award in 2012.  Our Board of Directors includes 16 of our nation's leading law enforcement groups, representing virtually every federal, state and local officer in America.
From L to R:
Harry Phillips, Craig W. Floyd, Director Robert S. Mueller III,
Suzie Sawyer, and Michael Muth

The  Memorial Fund's Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to "an individual or organization that has made an exceptional and lasting contribution to the law enforcement profession." Director Mueller will be joining a very impressive list of past winners of this award, which has been given since 1996.

As head of the FBI,  Director Mueller has made many contributions to keep America safe and to support the mission of the Memorial Fund. Director Mueller's exceptional and transformational leadership of the FBI has helped to ensure that there have been no successful terrorist attacks on U.S. soil since 9/11.  His regular participation in the Memorial Fund 's annual Candlelight Vigil and other major events has demonstrated a deep concern for those officers who have been killed in the line of duty, and their families, especially for the eight FBI Special  Agents who have sacrificed their lives during Director Mueller's tenure in office. The FBI's Office for Victim Assistance and the Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted Report are other excellent examples of the strong commitment that Director Mueller and the FBI have made to support crime victims and to promote law enforcement safety.

The Distinguished Service Award is the best way we know how to recognize his many contributions to the law enforcement profession and to say thank you to Director Mueller.

Prior Distinguished Service Award winners:
2011: Dick Wolf
2010: Target
2009: Vice President Joe Biden
2008: Congressman Steny Hoyer, House Majority Leader
2007: Cynthia Brown, American Police Beat Publisher
2006: President Bill Clinton
2005: Motorola
2004: Senator Ben Nighthorse Campbell
2003: Police Unity Tour
2002: President George H.W. Bush
2001: United States Mint Police
2000: U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno
1999: John Walsh, Host of America's Most Wanted
1998: Congressman (ret.) Mario Biaggi, Founder of the Memorial Fund
1997: The DuPont Company
1996: Senator Claiborne Pell, Honorary Chairman of the Memorial Fund